Basic Medicare Information

Medicare Set-Aside Blog on March 11, 2005
Posted by

Medicare Basics

Medicare is the nation’s leading health insurance program and is operated through the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Medicare offers health insurance to three types of people:

1. Persons 65 years of age and older;

2. Persons who are disabled and have been receiving Social Security Disability for at least 24 months; and

3. Anyone with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD).

Medicare Part A helps beneficiaries cover the costs of inpatient hospital care, skilled nursing facilities, hospice care, and home health care.

Medicare Part B helps cover mostly outpatient services and other costs not covered by Part A (including therapies and some costs associated with home health care).

In order to become eligible to receive Medicare benefits, you must have worked at least 10 years (or 40 quarters).

    MEDVAL     1-888-SET-ASIDE (1-888-738-2743)