Medicare Questions and Answers Explained

Medicare Set-Aside Blog on March 12, 2008
Posted by

Medicare is the nation’s leading health
insurance program and is operated through the
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Medicare offers health insurance to three types of people:

1. Persons 65 years of age and older;

2. Persons who are disabled and have been receiving Social Security Disability for at least 24 months; and

3. Persons with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) or Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).

Medicare Part A helps beneficiaries cover the costs of inpatient hospital care, skilled nursing facilities, hospice care, and home health care.

Medicare Part B helps cover mostly outpatient services and other costs not covered by Part A (including therapies and some costs associated with home health care).

Medicare Part C (or Medicare Advantage Plan) combines Parts A & B and is provided by private insurance companies including HMOs, PPOs, fee for service, or special needs plans.

Medicare Part D is a stand-alone insurance plan for prescription drug coverage offered through a number of different plans.

In general, to become eligible to receive Medicare benefits, a person must have worked at least 10 years or 40 quarters (for a total of 40 credits). However, if a person is under 65 years of age, she does not necessarily need to earn 40 credits to qualify for disability. For instance, if a person becomes disabled before 24 years of age, she would need six credits in three years to meet the eligibility requirement. For more information visit Social Security Online.

    MEDVAL     1-888-SET-ASIDE (1-888-738-2743)

    Medicare Set-Aside Allocation/Arrangement Recommendations
    Submissions to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
    Post-Settlement Administration

Turbo Tagger